Facebook + Localhost + Multiple Devs = Weirdness

May 20, 2011

Nerd

It’s 2:30 in the morning. My coworker has been troubleshooting the site we’re working on for the last few hours. He finally asked me to see if I could figure out why records aren’t writing to the db for him.

The site we’re working on is a Facebook App that has process order functionality. We’re calling a 3rd party REST Api for the order processing part. I implemented Hammock for the rest posts.

At my work, we all go out as the same IP. Facebook redirects (surprisingly) work for us using both IIS Express (and Cassini) with localhost : port urls.

We were trying to figure out why his calls wouldn’t go through. I (thankfully) put some logging into my REST calls & found

System.Net.WebException: The request was aborted: Could not create SSL/TLS secure channel. at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetRequestStream(TransportContext& context) at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetRequestStream() at Hammock.Web.WebQuery.ExecutePostOrPut(PostOrPut method, String url, WebException& exception) in D:\My Dropbox\_7_Source_Code\_1_Projects\hammock-codeplex\src\net35\Hammock\Web\WebQuery.cs:line 1115

What??? Is it serving my compiled DLL’s to him?

No DLLs are checked into this project.

We have both cleaned our solutions & he’s still getting that error. I even shut down Cassini.

Did NuGet store a preference when I pulled the package down from my dropbox?

I’ve done a search in the project for a config value or something that might have been set. No results.

We even completely deleted the Hammock reference from the project on his machine & re-added it using the official NuGet public library. He still can’t make Hammock REST calls when running local (but it works fine when he makes the calls from our integration server).

I am boggled.  If you know what might cause this, please comment away!

UPDATE: After my coworker removed the NuGet reference, deleted the package & re-added it from the offficial NuGet repository, I “got latest” via TFS & started getting the same exception from localhost:System.Net.WebException:

The request was aborted: Could not create SSL/TLS secure channel. at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetRequestStream(TransportContext& context) at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetRequestStream() at Hammock.Web.WebQuery.ExecutePostOrPut(PostOrPut method, String url, WebException& exception) in D:\My Dropbox\_7_Source_Code\_1_Projects\hammock-codeplex\src\net35\Hammock\Web\WebQuery.cs:line 1115

Still boggled… but after seeing this post I’m feeling more comfort thinking it’s more likely an issue with Hammock trying to consume an unavailable service (and that it just happened to be developed within the creator’s Drobbox folder) and less likely that my coworker’s issue was caused because I did something weird like download it to my Dropbox & install it via NuGet from there:
http://tweetsharp.codeplex.com/discussions/251569

UPDATE & CONCLUSION: This seems to have been caused by something on the 3rd party’s end. I can successfully make calls from localhost now, and we did not make any more changes after this night that would have affected this behavior, aside from emailing the contact for the service we are consuming to ask if they had seen something like this response/behavior (they said no btw).

Anomolies are awesome :-/

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

