Solved: Access & Map Drive to Shared Folders on Mac from Windows VM in Powershell

August 6, 2015

Nerd

I have folders on my Mac I access from my Windows VMs. (For example, I don’t want things like Dropbox mirrors duplicated into my VM).

VMWare Fusion’s instructions on how to share files are easy enough:

VMWare Fusion Folder Sharing Instructions

The Problem:

I want to access the mapped z:\ drive from PowerShell.

Attempt 1: FAIL

> cd z:\
cdZfail

Hrm. Ok, What does it say Z is mapped to?

zmap

Attempt 2: FAIL

> cd \\vmware-host
cdVmwareHost

Hrm. I wonder if this is important? (spoiler alert: It IS important =)

IsSharedFoldersImportant

SUCCESS! Part 1:

> cd “\\vmware-host\Shared Folders”
success1

…but then WHY can’t I cd z:\, if it was mapped? YAY TWITTER:

Yay, Twitter!

THAT WORKED!

> New-PSDrive -Name s -PSProvider FileSystem -Root “\\vmware-host\Shared Folders” -Persist
GreatSuccess!

Thank you, @dustinvenegas, for helping this PowerShell n00b (me) to get this working!

I hope this post helps others who run into the same challenge :)

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

